House of Costellos

Family living in Iowa's fields of opportunities

I’m READY November 22, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — jscostello56 @ 12:40 am
Tags: , , , ,

Baby C #3 will be here soon. And I mean soon.

This pregnancy has been very uneventful, and I like it that way. I really have not had any issues to speak, besides fatigue and my latest pelvic pain. But those things are all temporary, and I was dealing with them.

Over the past 2 weeks I have started to feel very ready to have a baby. I feel like my ‘to do list’ is done and mostly everything that can be in order, is.  Lucy is potty trained so we will only have 1 child in diapers. Working half days was tolerable. Bags are packed for all of us for impending labor. My mom has taken to carrying her cell phone 24/7 waiting for ‘the call’.  Freezer is full of 29 homemade ready-to-go meals. My last day at work was supposed to be the day after Thanksgiving, putting me at 38 wks, if I made it that far still pregnant. Nursery prepped. Kids excited. Newborn clothes washed. Names decided–for the most part. Birth plan written. Pack n play and bassinett sleeper set up in respective rooms. Diapers and car seat ready and everything in the car. Mama’s acceptance of what is about to come as far as, err, pain (to put it lightly). Baby dropped last weekend and my pelvic pain decreased. Ahhhh.

Just prior to 36 wks

Just prior to 36 wks

This past Sunday night I started to not feel well. Achey, no appetite, nauseous, contractions. Every. 4. Minutes. I took a nap that afternoon and got up and started feeling a lot of pelvic pressure. The kids and I did some cooking and I had to sit down, it was getting kind of intense. I couldn’t sleep that night and laid awake from 11pm-3am with contractions 4 minutes apart.  I let J sleep thinking that this was going to turn into something that he might want to be rested up for. I occupied the time by downloading a contraction app on my phone (ok, it is super convenient…).  I had just rolled over 36 wks. After finally falling asleep at 3am, I woke at 6am to get ready to go to work. J took one look at me and heard about the night I’d had and told me to call my boss and also my midwife. I was in no shape to go to work. And I felt like crap.

I got the kids to where they needed to go and got into my midwife at noon. I just felt lousy, and the contractions were still about 4 mins apart, but not getting any worse and not intense. After a series of tests and finding that my temp and blood pressure were a little elevated, my midwife Kim asked if I would be willing to do a 24 hr urine collection to look further into the issue. Sounded gross, but I agreed, gotta do what you gotta do, right? She thought I just had a ‘bug’ but wanted to be sure I didn’t have too much protein in my urine, indicating possible preeclampsia.Yikes. That was only something I had heard about with others dealing with, definitely not for me!

I felt better the next day and Wednesday; well as good as you feel when you’re 36.5 wks pregnant. Kim called me at work Wednesday night. The protein in my urine was 300. 299 is considered borderline preeclamptic.  Along with my slightly elevated blood pressure she said this was nothing to mess around with. I was to come in the next day for more tests to check in on baby, and I was to quit working. “Take it easy”.  Alrighty then……

Today I went in for a non stress test, blood pressure check, and ultrasound to check on baby and fluid levels. So far, everything has come back normal but my blood pressure is still a bit elevated. Baby is looking fine, measuring at 6lbs, give or take a pound (really, how do they come up with these numbers!?). I’m 3cm dilated and 70%+ effaced and Kim thinks I will go into labor naturally in the next few days.

It's all fun and games till they hook up the belts...

It’s all fun and games till they hook up the belts…

However, if labor doesn’t make an appearance, Monday Nov 25 is our due date. Research has shown that mamas with preeclampsia do best if delivered during the 37th wk, and that’s what my midwife will do, even though I don’t like it. That’s next week. Induction is something I have never faced and hope I never will. Both G and L were born  in drug-free, natural births, and we plan/hope for Baby C #3 to be born the same way. We have a few options in Nov 25 looms over us, but I’m hoping this show gets on the road on it’s own……. real soon.

I told the nurse on the phone tonight that I agree to be there at 6am on November 25 for induction {shudder}, but I’m not planning on it.

My mantra for the next 4 days: Bring it, birth!

Prayers appreciated!!!!

-The {growing} Costellos

 

One Response to “I’m READY”

  1. Pam Douglas Says:

    Good luck–all of us at Smart that work with Jeremiah will be thinking of you both! I told him to get those lesson plans taken care of for next week, JUST IN CASE, and now it sounds like it will be needed!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers