Lucy Lou….Who?

Lucy came into our lives on April 26, 2011. I was ECSTATIC to have a girl. Since then she has been such a mellow, laid back little person, and such a joy to have around. She resembles both J and I (I like to think more of ME), and sometimes a ‘Who’ (Dr Suess, anyone?) if her hair is done in such a way. And lately, I feel that she resembles my Grandma Schulz quite a bit.

DSCN1180

Lucy’s first outfit!

What’s funny with kids is how fast they change.

In the past 2 weeks or so, Lucy (AKA Lulu, Lucy Lou-Who, L, Lucy Marie-Rose!, Lucy Lou, Ms L) has really blossomed into a little girl. Gone is my baby who enjoys to be held for hours on end, is quiet, sucks her fingers all day, and is content watching other little kids play from afar.  Her personality is really coming into it’s own.  I was gone for 3 days last weekend to a retreat. I returned wondering who had taken my baby and returned this opinionated beautiful little gal  in her place. She is now 21 months old.  So quickly, things change.

Going swimming for the first time last year

Going swimming for the first time last year

Lucy now insists on picking out her clothes. Most days its this floral hoodie (that I kind of wish I had never bought) or a jacket, and mid-calf boots…thats it. Who needs pants?

Lucy will now *finally* sit still long enough so that I can fix her hair. This means my mommy skill of toddler hair has also come into its own. Apparently other moms feel the same, as I have come across several blogs showing me how to do her hair so that it will stay in all day. Gone are the days of hair in the face!!!

007

If you come to our home at any given time, you are likely to find Lucy wearing one or ALL of the following: a fireman’s jacket, a tutu, a winter hat/coat/gloves/boots, a Disney princess outfit, a pro wrestling mask or an apron. It’s just how she rolls.

Lucy is beginning to say several words consistently. We are not so used to this, as Gabriel was a little less fluent than Lucy is at this age. She constantly talks, sometimes uses words. Either way, she is very clear with her requests. She has become quite the little parrot, repeating a lot of words that we say. Some of her favorites these days: ball, shoe, dad, mom, G, dog, shirt, pants, Mel, sock, more, hot, water, milk, hair, hat, coat, boot, ow, frog, book; all said with exclamation.

Don’t you dare forget to give Lucy her gummy bear vitamins after dinner, or she will let you hear it! Also, do not forget to turn on her Gregorian chant or Mozart at night, her beauty sleep goes needs that music!

Lucy is obsessed with babies. I’m not sure if this means she wants a  younger sibling or what, but if she sees a baby, everyone is going to know. She screams, shrieks, points, and smiles at that baby, and then insists on going to get a closer look. Same goes with if she sees her young cousins from afar. She is on a mission!

Lucy has become my little shadow. Some people may find this annoying, but I could not be more thrilled. G has always been J’s little shadow. He does absolutely everything that J does, and they both love it. It is so fun to have a mini-me. If I put on a necklace, Lucy insists on wearing one too, all day. If I’m cooking, she’s right there, wanting to stir, measure, scoop, whatever she can get her hands on. Brushing teeth?I better have her light up firefly toothbrush ready!

Lucy has become quite opinionated. I now have to consult her opinion on what music we listen to, what clothes she wears, and what cup she drinks out of, what plate she eats from, what food she eats. We hear a lot of protesting and see a lot of pouty faces. 😉

005

I regularly look in the rearview mirror and see Lucy jamming out to whatever is on the radio. Both her and G have some mad moves.

Watching our kids grow and change is so much fun. At every age I think, “This is the best! I just love this age so much!”.  Guess what, the same thing happens at each stage. I’m told this lasts until the teenage years, so here’s to enjoying it till then!! 😉

Leave a Reply

