Goodbye to our Cloth Diapers

When I was pregnant with Gabriel, Jeremiah and I made a decision to cloth diaper. We got a lot of feedback from people when we told them our diapering plan, most of it being negative; “What are you thinking?”, “Why would you do that when there are disposables?”, “Who’s going to wash them?”, and my favorite “That won’t last long…”

4 years and 2 children later, we are still using the SAME cloth diapers we bought for Gabriel. We did a lot of research and ended up buying a few different brands to try out. I spent a LOT of time putting together, rearranging, pre-washing, learning about and pretty much just ‘ooo-ing’ over the diapers before G was born. Pretty pathetic, right?  If you are a modern day cloth diapering mama, you know just what I’m talking about. It almost becomes an obsession. 😉

Fast forward 4 years. My kids have been in cloth diapers since 2 wks old each.  G has been potty trained for some time, but L is still wearing the heck out of them. The diapers we have are WORE OUT. It is time to retire them. There is no more ‘ooo-ing’ over the diapers, just washing them. A lot.

For some reason this has become kind of emotional for me. Why?! They are diapers for goodness sake! But to me, it just signifies that our 2 kids are growing up {and subsequently wearing things out}!  Plus, we have used those things daily for 4 years, it’s kinda hard to just get rid of them!

So we bought a new ‘stash’.

New 'fluff'. Get excited! ;)

Part of the new ‘fluff’. Get excited! 😉

Cloth diapering has been awesome for us. We have saved thousands of dollars and a lot of waste. We use disposables on trips and at night. That’s about it. But it leaves our house looking like this:

Drying time

Drying time

The line

The line

L models a new style

L models a new style

If you have young kids and have not looked into cloth diapering, take a look. You will save a lot of money and the environment. I have no complaints!!

I have become known in Bennett as ‘the lady with the cloth diapers on the line.’ Why do I know this? Because one of my patients called me just that one day, and informed me that the morning coffee club at the gas station also refers to me as that. Sweet. Never thought cloth diapering would bring on such fame 😉

 

Have a great week!

-The Costello’s

Leave a Reply

