Leaving the dark (desirable?) age

Our House of Costello is one of somewhat an anomaly. In this age of speed, technology, and data, we are very low-tech.

We do not/have not ever had cable/dish/satellite. If we watch TV, it’s on a local station picked up by a digital antenna, or we watch a movie. Guess what? I’m ok with that.

We do not use GPS. If we are going somewhere unknown, we print out directions from Google map or *gasp* use a map/gazeteer. We don’t usually use GPS for running either, we count by country miles.  I’m ok with that.

We do not have an iPad or tablet, and we own 1 laptop. We *share* it, and our kids only use it when they are on our lap, usually for something like looking at pictures I’ve taken of them. I’m ok with that.

We do not have iTunes or anything like that. I got a MP3 player for Christmas last year and use it occasionally when I run. Really, I prefer the quiet and time with whatever runs across my road. I’m ok with that.

We get new phones only when absolutely necessary. I have had my phone for 3 years now, I believe. We are probably the last people in America that do not have smartphones….until now.

We spent the last week trying to decide what to do. J’s phone is on its last, I mean very last, leg.  I’m fine with my current un-smart phone, but kind of envy the convenience of a smartphone. But,  I feel like once you go to smart, you can’t go back. And I DON’T want to be one of those people glued to their phone at all times.  I kind of like being able to get away from everything when I want to.  We decided that eventually we will probably be the last people in the modern world without them, so we might as well bite the bullet now and get it over with.

Many hours at Verizon and USCellular stores and hundreds of dollars later, enter 2 new Samsung Galaxy 4’s, Samsung’s newest smartphone….that can do everything. They call it a ‘life companion’ which kinda weirds me out.  I’m still on the fence whether I want to make nice with it or not.

This year for Christmas I was talking to J about possibly getting the kiddos a tablet to share. I changed my mind. Our kids are getting legos, games, books, other mind/brain building things; things that encourage creativity, especially since that’s what they are into anyways.  I really want my kids to be the ones to break the mold. The ones who have been to all the state parks but don’t know how to take a picture with Instagram. The ones who know how to harvest tomatoes and dig potatoes but don’t know what the heck a gigabyte is. The ones who can make a whole city out of cardboard boxes but aren’t quite sure who Siri is. The ones who can run trails with their mom and dad but had to read a map to find how to get them there.  I’m ok with that.

I digress, there are pros and cons to the ‘smart’ age that we live in. I guess it’s just finding a balance with it all.

Someday, they will need to learn more about technology and use it for their everyday, day-to-day activities {probably in a few short years, as a lot of kindergarten classes around here have 1 to 1 iPads….}. Until then, I want them to be less-tech than most. I want them to be KIDS!

So that is one of the main reasons we have never gotten smartphones.

So far, I’ve downloaded some apps, had some trouble figuring out how to answer an incoming call {yes, call me old lady now…}, and mistyped many words on the touchscreen {I had real buttons before!}.  I downloaded 2 apps for each of the kids and a few personal ones that I think are quite convenient.

I guess the S4 and I can be friends, for now. 😉

Have a great week!

-The {growing} Costellos

One thought on “Leaving the dark (desirable?) age

Leave a Reply

