One in a minion

What a busy week it has been! Monday we found out that our Lincoln had been side swiped while parked in Minnesota.  To make a long story short, the other person’s insurance covered all of the damages, along with a rental car for us for the duration of the repairs. I could come to like the Jeep Cherokee:

Nice to drive, but will be happy to get the Lincoln back!

Nice to drive, but will be happy to get the Lincoln back!

Tuesday and Wednesday were spent at the Mississippi Valley Fair. Monday our kids, along with allllll of their cousins, competed in the Kiddie Kattle Kapers competition.  They participate every year, but the theme they did this year was “Dairy: one in a minion”.  You guessed it! They all dressed as minions, even the calf that they led along with them.  We didn’t have time to shop for actual bibs, but J did a fantastic job of painting up some shirts for them to wear.  They won, of course.   😉

One of the minions

One of the minions

A minion pair, one of which does not like pictures

A minion pair, one of which does not like pictures. Amelia chose not to participate, haha

We also got our fair share of fair food, more than our fair share of dairy treats, rides, shows and exhibits. I must say I cannot wait until my kids are old enough to be in 4H.  J and I were both in it as youth and I was thoroughly impressed by some of the projects this year! Thursday I went to work but J kept plugging along on the treehouse. There is only one word to describe it; MASSIVE. The walls are now fabricated, a mere 7′ above the 7.5′ platform. There is talk of a cargo net, slide, rope climb, tire crawl and more. He hung 2 swings on the underside and they have already been the hit of the neighborhood. He has been using some of the 2×4’s that we pulled out of the Maple Street Estate when we gutted it so that is neat. He is also using windows pulled from Uncle Kyle’s old porch and a door he bought on an auction for $1. Literally, $1. I’m planning on doing a full blog about the ‘Guest house’ once it is more complete.

One wall, 2 kids

One wall, 2 kids

Friday I took all 3 kids school shopping. Woof.  We had 2 school supply lists this year that rang me upwards of $100. I guess I shouldn’t complain, because I shop bargains on almost everything, except school supplies it seems. As I’m working on school registration paperwork and pricing new glasses for Lucy I keep hearing ‘cha-ching, cha-ching’.  I can almost feel the money being pulled from my wallet! On the contrary, that afternoon 2 former PT patients of mine brought us a 30-gallon can full of sweet corn….for free! Thanks guys! I also found out I was chosen to be a brand rep for the website modestpop.com! I’ll be posting some pictures of their clothes so check them out!

Love him

Love him

My corn helper

My corn helper

Saturday I spent a few hours of the day freezing up all that corn, doing laundry, running, washing out carseats, helping with the treehouse, washing diapers, and making food and eating food.  I like Saturdays 🙂 Today we went to church followed by book club/Target with Aunt Mel for me, and lunch with the family and Mendards trip for the rest of my crew.  I can say my afternoon was funner than Jeremiah’s 😉  Amelia has decided to try to grow up in leaps this past week. She is regularly trying to use the potty and now insists on drinking with a big kid cup. She refuses, however to add much to her vocabulary and loves to spill and throw food on the floor/wall/chair. Stinker.

Hold the lid, please

Hold the lid, please

Here’s me, tonight, tired, doing dishes. I still needed a pic for WIWS, so here it is, although not my best. But hey, check out all that nice woodwork trim around the window and door! Yeah!

WIWS: dress from Target, dishes from my family, ha!

WIWS: hi-low dress from Target, dishes from my family, ha!

-The {enjoying summertime} Costellos

2 thoughts on “One in a minion

  1. Mmm. I love corn. I used to not eat vegetables (I know!), so corn was as close I got. Now that I eat actual vegetables, I feel less guilty for enjoying corn.

    I have never been able to get into the high-low dress trend, but yours looks good. Maybe if there were more that aren’t so dramatically high and low. Also, Target is my jam. They get all my money.

Leave a Reply

